Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
TCS230-DB color sensor with arduino duemilanove — Parallax Forums

TCS230-DB color sensor with arduino duemilanove

hscriberhscriber Posts: 2
edited 2011-04-27 12:23 in Accessories
I am trying to make a robot that actively hunts down and retrieves golf balls off a driving range. I have a PING sensor to measure distance and tell my robot how far to move, but I want to use the TCS230-DB to determine if what I have found is in fact a golf ball. All the code I can find for it is in basic stamp, and I have no clue how to read that, let alone convert it to the arduino language. Does anyone have a sample code that they used with this sensor that I could look at to see where to even start? I have looked at the manual, it means nothing to me. I am a basic beginner, and haven't yet delved into schematics and things. All the codes I have written I have had a basic starting code that I modified to make do what I want. Please help.

Comments

• ElectricAyeElectricAye Posts: 4,561
    edited 2011-04-26 17:29
    Welcome to the forum.

Could you please be a little more explicit about how your system is going to operate? How is your PING being used to find golf balls or to determine movement toward golf balls? What distance is the PING supposed to be measuring - distance to golf balls or distance from some sort of reference point? I seriously doubt the PING, by itself, could detect golf balls in the grass.

Are all the golf balls the same color? Are they uniform in color or might they have stripes or logos on them? How will your system move through the grass and look for the balls? How fast does this thing have to work?

The TCS230 senses color by comparing different sensor signals as measured through various filters. Do you really need to sense color or could some sort of contrast comparison be good enough? In which case could you use the TSL230? http://www.parallax.com/tabid/768/txtSearch/TSL230/List/0/SortField/4/Default.aspx