Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Wind Turbine Project Help — Parallax Forums

Wind Turbine Project Help

ZouLouZouLou Posts: 6
edited 2011-04-26 00:53 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, I am very new to the Basic Stamp community and new to microcontrollers overall. I have worked through most of the projects in the "What is a Microcontroller?" book to get a good simple feel for the PBasic language.

For my college capstone project, we are building a variable pitch wind turbine hub for a very small scale wind turbine (1.28m blade diameter). I am using the BASIC Stamp BOE board as the brains of the machine. I have a wind speed sensor and a rotary encoder to measure the two wind components.

I found some example code written on here from March of last year that should work with my specific wind speed sensor. It can be found here:

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?120507-I2C-eagle-Tree-Airspeed-sensor

So I would like to say thanks to Istha Powron if he is still around.

The encoder is where I am running into trouble. I have been told to look into both the COUNT and PULSIN commands, but have not had much luck. I apologize for any dumb comment or question, I am a mechanical engineer and I am basically electronically illiterate.

These two sensor inputs will be used to calculate the desired angle of attack. This information will then be sent out in TTL format (terminology?) to a board that will convert it from TTL to RS485. This signal will then finally reach the motor control board which controls a motor with a built in encoder.

I would prefer to get the Basic Stamp program squared away before trying to figure out the control board. I have written a little bit of lousy code that I attached below.
' {$STAMP BS2px}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

SDA PIN 0              ' I2C SDA pin
SCL PIN 1

addr     VAR Word      ' internal address
result   VAR Byte(2)   ' array for returned value
windpara VAR Word      ' wind from actual wind
rpm      VAR Word      ' revolution of generator