Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
need help in building a robot simulator — Parallax Forums

need help in building a robot simulator

kevin_dilkevin_dil Posts: 1
edited 2011-04-18 20:13 in Robotics
i'm new to robotics but have some experience in programming. i have to build a basic robot simulator as a project. i would appreciate any helpful directions towards building a simulator from scratch. need to simulate robot motion(2 wheels) and sensor input.

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2011-04-15 21:00
    Those are very general parameters. Could you be more specific?
  • prof_brainoprof_braino Posts: 4,313
    edited 2011-04-16 17:01
    kevin_dil wrote: »
    i'm new to robotics but have some experience in programming. i have to build a basic robot simulator as a project. i would appreciate any helpful directions towards building a simulator from scratch. need to simulate robot motion(2 wheels) and sensor input.

There is an interactive development environment for the prop called propforth http://code.google.com/p/propforth/.
    One can assign one cog as an application to control a device (motor, sensor) and another cog to simulate a device (one cog for motor, one cog for sensor).
    Being interactive, the development cycle iterations can be very fast. (Design, code, test, experiment, repeat)

There is an initial learning curve for forth, it passes parameters directly on the stack, very simple and fast, but weird at first if you think in basic or C. After that its all cake.

Cheers!
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2011-04-18 06:47
    Of course, for an authentic REAL WORLD robot simulator, every precision measurement and input needs to be multiplied by a completely random factor:

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?130199-Hints-About-My-New-Project-(Video)&p=992876#post992876
  • Dr.ZaiusDr.Zaius Posts: 16
    edited 2011-04-18 20:13