Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
A question about multiple pushbuttons — Parallax Forums

A question about multiple pushbuttons

BriceBrice Posts: 2
edited 2011-04-14 09:29 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, I'm pretty new to all of this, but I've read some in the basic stamp syntax manual and the whats a microcontroller book, but I guess I'm not getting it. I have attached the code that I'm working with so far. It seems that there must be a better way of doing this. I just want to be able to press a pushbutton and have the BSII make a pin high and when I release the button and press it again it makes the same pin low and repeat continuously. And I want to be able to do this for multiple pushbuttons. Basically just turning a momentary pushbutton into a latching or constant switch (3 times or more). from there, I can control an led or use a transistor to operate a relay etc. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GMike G Posts: 2,702
    edited 2011-04-10 14:38
    I didn't test this... it depends how you have pins 13, 14, and 15 wired.
    ' {$STAMP BS2}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}

Init:
      ' Set pin group A to input low
      DIRA = %0000
      OUTA = %0000

'Set pin group D to output low
      DIRD = %1111
      OUTD = %0000

Main:

IF IN0 = 1 THEN  TOGGLE 13
      IF IN1 = 1 THEN  TOGGLE 14
      IF IN2 = 1 THEN  TOGGLE 15

GOTO Main

• BriceBrice Posts: 2
    edited 2011-04-10 15:40
    Thank you for your reply. I tried the code you sent, something still seems to be wrong. I'm attaching a rough diagram of how I have it wired. Thanks again!
    1024 x 1325 - 67K
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,662
    edited 2011-04-10 15:54