Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Motor questions — Parallax Forums

Motor questions

PyrozPyroz Posts: 3
edited 2011-04-10 16:18 in Robotics
I am new to the world of autonomous robotics and I am diving head first into a project of my own device rather than sticking to a kit.

With this project I am using this motor.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXUZA6&P=FR

With other 380 motors I have found the max RPM to be around 50,000. I have found no specs on the amps or the volts. I am planning on using 4 of these in my project.

My questions (so far) are:

1) Which chip do I use to control the motor?
2) Do I need multiple chips to control all 4 motors?
3) Do I need an ESC for these motors as well as a Parallax chip? If so, what kind?

Thanks,
Pyroz

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2011-04-09 20:19
    Without specs I would say get one and test it. you will need something between the chip and the motor but there are different ways you could do that.
  • PyrozPyroz Posts: 3
    edited 2011-04-09 21:18
    So upon further research, basic hobby motors one can pick up at Radioshack can suit my needs just as well. Those motors run at slower RPM but an amperage of 1A @ 3V.

Suggestions now?
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2011-04-09 21:40
    Gearmotor.
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2011-04-10 10:09
    You haven't really told us how you want to use the motors. Are they to drive wheels? If so, as erco suggests, you'll want a motor with a gear box to slow it down and increase the torque.

One of the reasons hobby servos are commonly used in robots is because they come with a gear box and electronics to control the motor.
  • PyrozPyroz Posts: 3
    edited 2011-04-10 12:34
    I am trying to make a variation on a quadrocopter. The motors will be spinning the propellers.
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2011-04-10 16:18