Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Wiring help for a robotics newbie? — Parallax Forums

Wiring help for a robotics newbie?

Gumby1108Gumby1108 Posts: 6
edited 2011-04-06 18:34 in Robotics
Hi! I'm new to boe-bots, and am undertaking a (relatively simple) project where I intend to have four standard servos operating the controls to a guitar hero guitar so that it plays the song "Here Comes the Sun" from the Beatles RockBand. I would really appreciate some advice on how to wire them to the board, as the ports provided only fit the continuous rotation servos that I have. I have only the most basic understanding that the school-provided manual can provide, and I'd really like a more experienced opinion before I fry my electronics. Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GMike G Posts: 2,702
    edited 2011-04-06 18:04
    I would really appreciate some advice on how to wire them to the board, as the ports provided only fit the continuous rotation servos that I have
    Continuous rotation servos and standard servos have the same connections.

First, educate yourself on how servos work. Try a Google search. Parallax has a ton of resources too. See the Boe-Bot manual.
    (relatively simple) project where I intend to have four standard servos operating the controls to a guitar hero guitar so that it plays the song "Here Comes the Sun" from the Beatles RockBand
    My kid has Rock Band. This is NOT a simple project. How will you time the notes on the flying by on the TV? It would be much easier to play Taps on a real guitar since all of the notes are open except one.
  • Martin_HMartin_H Posts: 4,051
    edited 2011-04-06 18:15
    Regular and continuous rotation servos both use the same three pin header. So if you want to use them instead of the boe-bot servos, just unplug the continuous rotation ones and plug them in making sure to match the ground (usually black) and signal lines (usually white or yellow) with the header.