Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Electroglas Prober to Serial Port Interface — Parallax Forums

Electroglas Prober to Serial Port Interface

CircuitMageCircuitMage Posts: 62
edited 2011-04-06 16:00 in Robotics
This project (for my employer) required an interface for RS232 communication between a EG1034X wafer prober, and an ETS-600 test set running C+ software. The BS2p24 ,available documentation and forum support allowed this project to be completed in less than 2 weeks (while working on other duties), without any other Basic Stamp project experience (I have completed PIC projects in asm, however), or any RS232 programming experience.

Due to proprietary information restrictions, no schematics or code will be published here. I am posting this as both a guide to BS project completion and as documentation for anyone out there that may find this information of use. My employer will work with anyone interested in this application, for a fee, of course.

Since I am still new to the Basic Stamp world, any comments on this project are welcomed! Any insight, tips or notes will be great as I intend to adopt the BS2 for other projects.

Steps:
1.Research
2.Software on BS2p
3.Hardware on BS2p
4.Confirmation of RS232 data
5.Software on ETS-600 , C+

1.RESEARCH
Initially, I inherited this project from a previously employed engineer from about 5 years ago. Having known about Basic Stamps since they came out, the opportunity to work on this project peaked my interest and I jumped right in!

First,
It did not take long to reverse engineer the board that was given to me. I did not take a picture of the board, but I did layout the circuit to understand how it was put together. In the end, I did things a different way.

Second,
I quickly found the information I was looking for to get started on this project. The primary guide I used was in the Nuts and Volts section and was spot on for what I needed;
Column #89, September 2002: Data Exchange with Visual Basic