Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Spinneret Contest Entry - Laser Locator Network (LLN) — Parallax Forums

Spinneret Contest Entry - Laser Locator Network (LLN)

xanaduxanadu Posts: 3,347
edited 2011-03-26 15:58 in Accessories
Laser Locator Network (LLN)

My real name is Jon and I am a robotic hobbyist. I would like to thank Parallax for giving me the opportunity to give back to the same community that has provided me with a wealth of knowledge and also the parts, books (especially), and online community. The reason I picked this “invention” as my project is because it can do real work such as making repetitive tasks easy, and fun!

This is my official forum entry for the Laser Locator Network (LLN) device. The project is in the first stage of prototype, so I would like to start sharing information and getting feedback. I have been considering building this for awhile, but it wasn’t until the Spinneret came out that I took action. The device consists of a wall or ceiling mounted unit with a Spinneret network connection. The four unused pins are as follows;

Pin 24 = Pan Servo
Pin 25 = Tilt Servo
Pin 26 = Laser Power Relay
Pin 27 = Expansion Port

Why am I putting a visible laser on a pan tilt device connected to network?

Simple, it’s efficient, and I think its “cool”. It can also guide you out of a smoke filled building, by handing you off to other lasers! I can now, in my office load the IP address of the Spinneret, find the part I’m looking for via HTTP, click a button for the part and the laser dot takes me right to it. Now imagine an assembly line, timing is key. When you use the laser to locate something, the time it spends doing so is programmable as well. It's a great visual cue system. It also has entertainment purposes as well, but for this contest I will not label it "multi-purpose".