Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Servo Brands: Metal gears, dual bearings — Parallax Forums

Servo Brands: Metal gears, dual bearings

Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
edited 2011-03-05 21:57 in Robotics
All--

What are the quality, all metal gear, dual bearing digital servo brands? (I'm a servo newbie.)

Thanks!

--Bill

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2011-02-28 17:08
    I'll leave specific brand recommendations to more informed people, but I like this page for misc info on various servo types: http://www.rchelimag.com/pages/howto.php?howto=1&page=3

Not surprising that servos with metal gears are stronger and impact resistant than nylon gear servos, but they wear faster, too.
  • Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
    edited 2011-02-28 18:22
    erco--

I read the entire piece. I learned a lot. Thank you very much.

Hopefully, others will chime in regarding their favorite brands. I am thinking of a Prop-driven hexapod and would like to begin experimenting with quality servos.

--Bill
  • schillschill Posts: 741
    edited 2011-02-28 19:01
    There are a number of pretty good servos out there. For a number of years now I've been sticking pretty much to Hitec except for some really small cheap ones. One thing to bear in mind is that the splines on different brands of servos are not the same. You can't stick Futaba compatible arms on Hitec servos, for example. So it can be a good idea to stick with one brand or at least compatible brands.

I've used digital servos for a few applications, but for a lot of applications there really isn't a need to spend the extra money. It can be interesting to adjust the parameters, though.

Hexapods, or any legged robot for that matter, usually require higher torque servos so you're already seeing the cost go up without adding digital.
  • wrightmewrightme Posts: 43
    edited 2011-02-28 20:06