Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Question about using Xbee to transmit waveforms — Parallax Forums

Question about using Xbee to transmit waveforms

lzqxek11lzqxek11 Posts: 2
edited 2011-04-17 19:04 in Accessories
Hi,

I am new to the XBee modules so I don't know how to start, what I want is that I want to transmit a piece of 38 KHz square waves using the XBee 1 series. What do I need to do to make it work? I checked the manual and start thinking that it won't work on XBees since its sample rate only at 1ms the maximum. I appreciate that if someone can help :)

Li

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2011-02-24 21:33
    Sorry to say you are right, it won't work at 38KHz.
  • bot7711bot7711 Posts: 16
    edited 2011-02-25 09:04
    Can you explain more about the project or the function you are trying to solve using xbee, and how the 38 KHz fits in?
  • RobotWorkshopRobotWorkshop Posts: 2,307
    edited 2011-02-25 11:37
    You might be able to do this easily with a pair of these:

http://www.parallax.com/Store/Accessories/CommunicationRF/tabid/161/CategoryID/36/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/582/Default.aspx

The Xbee modules are cool but they may not be the best choice for what you want to do.

Robert
  • lzqxek11lzqxek11 Posts: 2
    edited 2011-02-25 11:52
    bot7711 wrote: »
    Can you explain more about the project or the function you are trying to solve using xbee, and how the 38 KHz fits in?

This is the thing, I am simulating a remote control deivce. I give order on a MCU and I want target device to receive the command wirelessly and generate 38KHz in some formats, which will be the IR signal. At first I thought XBee can do this without problem, but further reading leads that it wont, since im tight in time on my project, I guess best way doing this now is to make another MCU at receiving and make XBee to transmit serial data in order to make them talk to each other. Glad to hear more suggestions on this and wish me luck...