Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
EEPROM hook up and usage issues — Parallax Forums

EEPROM hook up and usage issues

StampmysterStampmyster Posts: 27
edited 2011-02-15 08:44 in BASIC Stamp
This is my first attempt to use EEPROM integrated circuits. I’m using (2) 24LC128’s and a BS2. I find the whole business confusing especially trying to make sense of commands like SHIFTIN, MSBPRE, MSBFIRST…etc. However, using modified example code, hook-up examples, perseverance and a lot of trial and error I did manage to make something work.

The main issue I’m concerned about is the wiring. The first one is hooked up as A0 and the second as A1. Trouble is, I have to declare in the code that A1 is A2? (See wiring diagram and code.) If I hook up the second EEPROM as A2 (As I think it should be.) it doesn’t work at all?

I would bet a cookie, I’m simply not grasping the full concept. Any suggestion or solutions would be greatly appreciated!
383 x 574 - 46K

Comments

• taphelitapheli Posts: 5
    edited 2011-02-12 08:55
    Hi there,

In looking at your circuit, you have a couple of errors. From your "top" EEprom you have the SCL (Signal clock line) going to the SDA (signal Data line). This will confuse the EEproms. So what you will need to do is run the SCL from the TOP EEprom to the SCL line on the bottom EEprom. Then do the same for the SDA lines. One of the other things I see is that the two 4.7K resistors are in the incorrect place. What you'll want to do is run one resistor from your SDA line to +5v, and the other resistor from the SCL to +5v. Right now your have them in series with both lines. This should help on th hardware side.
  • StampmysterStampmyster Posts: 27
    edited 2011-02-12 09:29
    Geeesh! Pure nit-wit-izm on my part. Thankfully it was just a documentation error. It's already hooked up as you say.

Anyway, the original problem still exist.

Any suggestion or solutions would still be greatly appreciated!
    379 x 521 - 44K
  • taphelitapheli Posts: 5