Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sensing mechanism in the basic stamp. — Parallax Forums

Sensing mechanism in the basic stamp.

cedtinsicedtinsi Posts: 45
edited 2011-02-10 16:03 in Accessories
Dear engineer, or anyone who is interrested to share knowledge about the title: SENSING MECHANISM IN THE BASIC STAMP.
First, thank you for taking my post into consideration.
I am a college student, very curious about getting to know how the Basic Stamp works to perform that amazing display of artificial intelligence.
I read 18% of the manual " What is a microcontroller?" and arriving at the 66th page, I wondered how the Basic Stamp senses the state of a circuit and attributes the digits either 0 or 1, depending on whether a particular path is either opened or closed.
dow bellow is an extract from the manual.
Binary and Circuits: The base-2 number system uses only the digits 1 and 0 to make
numbers, and these binary values can be transmitted from one device to another. The
BASIC Stamp interprets Vdd (5 V) as binary-1 and Vss (0 V) as binary-0. Likewise, when
the BASIC Stamp sets an I/O pin to Vdd using HIGH, it sends a binary-1. When it sets an
I/O pin to Vss using LOW, it sends a binary-0. This is a very common way of communicating
binary numbers used by many computer chips and other devices

how does the Basic Stamp manage to intepret a voltage as a binary digit ?
how does it sense a particular state and attribute to that state a binary digit?
how does it work?

now concerning the program the program that is written and downloaded to the Basic Stamp:
how does the Basic Stamp interpret the 0s and 1s, that it receives as instructions from the program, and either closes or opens a particular path in a circuit?
before that, how does the Basic Stamp manage to recognize that this is a 0 and this is a 1?
how does the Basic Stamp "senses" a 0 and "senses" a 1?
0s and 1s are just abstract right, numbers invented by humans right, so how does the Basic Stamp do that?