Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LCD Appmod help — Parallax Forums

LCD Appmod help

N0M4dICN0M4dIC Posts: 14
edited 2023-02-03 09:40 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi everyone, It's my first post.

I recently bought a parallax LCD Appmod to go with my BS Discovery kit (just got through WAM).

I need help with programming the parallel LCD, because even when looking at Stampworks guide or the LCD appmod demo, I still can't get it. I just want to display messages on the display. No custom chars or whatever.

Also, how do you read pushbuttons state? Look like they're on the same inputs as the LCD.

I've read a few things, but It's all about advanced techniques like custom chars and scrolling. Can somebody points me to a ''Basic parallel LCD operation with the LCD Appmod'' manual? I'm using a BS2 with a BOE.

I'm a student in electronics and my end of year project (personal project) will be a robot which uses an LCD display (well, serial, but I got a parallel anyway, so...), so got to learn it!

Thanks!
Please excuse my messy english!

Dan

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2011-01-28 18:05
    manual.. attached
  • N0M4dICN0M4dIC Posts: 14
    edited 2011-01-28 20:47
    Thank you, but that doesn't help me very much. I already read it. Can't understand most of the program. And google doesn't seem to be much help.
    Wish I had a 2p24...
  • sylvie369sylvie369 Posts: 1,622
    edited 2011-01-29 09:46
    Here (attached) is a modified version of the demo software.

LCDAppmod BS2 Only.bs2

I hope it's helpful. The purpose was to make the demo a bit easier to understand by removing the conditional compilation material and just concentrating on how to use the LCD Appmod with the BS2.