Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Davis Anemometer — Parallax Forums

Davis Anemometer

Sal AmmoniacSal Ammoniac Posts: 213
edited 2011-12-27 14:26 in Accessories
Anyone have any experience with the output of the Davis anemometer?

Are the pulses clean or do they have bounce?

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2011-01-28 15:35
    Hey Sal,

I have some experience with a MetOne anenometer from about 15 years ago. This was probably my first major BS2-IC project and I had some really solid assistance from Chip to get it running. We used the PULSIN command after trying a few alternatives with COUNT and it worked nicely. The challenge was converting the data to sensible units in MPH, so we hooked up an LCD and drove down the street at various speeds in his '93 Corvette. I hung out the window while Chip yelled out the speed and I recorded the units for each speed from the Scott Edwards 2x16 Serial LCD. Got back to the office and (doh) discovered a nice linear relationship.

Tracy Allen has all kinds of experience with his environmental dataloggers. I bet he'll show up on this thread and tell you what you need to know about the output and debouncing issues from an anenometer.

I didn't answer your question but shared an experience.

Ken Gracey
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,255
    edited 2011-01-28 18:04
  • max72max72 Posts: 1,155
    edited 2011-01-29 07:48
    A little bit off topic but it could intest you:
    I used in the past a solid state wind sensor from http://www.mierijmeteo.nl
    The price tag is very different, but you have not moving parts, and you get serial data in a string format similar to GPS.
    Upward in the price ladder you have ultrasonic sensors..
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2011-01-29 11:06
    Hi Sal,