Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
uln2003 — Parallax Forums

uln2003

RubyRuby Posts: 35
edited 2011-02-11 14:37 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everybody.
I am new in microcontrollers and stepper motors.
Can u tell me how many microcontrollers i need to run 3 step motors at least?
How can i wire them?
Thanx

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2011-01-20 17:40
    It all depends on many factors.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-01-20 20:07
    These factors include:

1) How fast does the stepper have to go in terms of steps per unit time?

2) Do the steppers have to move at the same time?

3) Is the stepper unipolar or bipolar and how many coils does it have?

4) What voltage and current does the stepper need?

There are stepper controller / driver devices that work well with the Stamp and ximplify the use of steppers. Here's one sold by Parallax. There are many similar devices available. Do a web search.
  • bsnutbsnut Posts: 521
    edited 2011-01-21 01:42
    I don't know why you picked "ULN2003" for a subject, but that is OK. A ULN2003 is a driver chip that is used to drive voltages 12 - 36vdc @ 125mA when all inputs are driven and you can use it to drive a stepper motor. But, this method uses alot of pins from to microcontroller. This will not leave you with many pin for anything else.

They make a driver chip that controls and drives stepper motors. This chip receives pulses from the microcontroller, that controls speed and the direction of the stepper motor as well. The speed of the pulses from the microcontroller controls the speed of the stepper motor. The goal of using this chip is to save you I/O pins on the controller that you chose.

To answer your big question, there is a book that covers this application and book is written by John Iovine called "Projects For Pic Microcontrollers" and you also can look on the internet under this name. You also find examples with schematics on the internet as well.