Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Analog I/O with Spinneret? — Parallax Forums

Analog I/O with Spinneret?

cwegercweger Posts: 4
edited 2011-01-18 13:17 in Accessories
Hi all,
I'm brand new to Spinneret and to Parallax products, so pardon me if the answer to this question is obvious and I just haven't searched correctly.

In my reading of the documentation, the Spinneret board seems to me to be very limited in terms of I/O. Specifically, I'm looking for analog I/O capabilities (sensor measurement, device control, etc.). I see that Parallax sells a "Digital I/O Board Kit" (product ID 27113). Is this something that could "easily" (i.e. libraries already exist or are trivial) be connected to the Spinneret?

If not, how would you suggest dealing with multiple (just a few, not dozens) of analog I/O channels?

Thanks!
-Chuck

Edit: spoke too soon; just found the MCP3204 chip, which looks good. Not being a Hardware Guy, is there an example somewhere of how to interface this chip to the available pins on a Spinneret? Also, forget the part about the "Digital I/O Board Kit" above; turns out that "digital" really means "digital" in this case. As usual, I am an idiot.

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2011-01-17 12:42
    Parallax's Proto-DB prototyping daughterboard provides a handy way to add circuitry to the Spinneret. The ADC12130 provides four channels of 12-bit analog input and would be a nice match for the Proto-DB and Spinneret.

-Phil
  • cwegercweger Posts: 4
    edited 2011-01-17 13:00
    Thanks for the quick response, Phil. I see the ADC12130 goes for $8.58 at Digi-Key, while the MCP3204 is only $4.73 (if ordered from Parallax; less if you get it from Digi-Key or elsewhere). Is there some reason you suggest the ADC12130 over the MCP3204?

Thanks,
    Chuck
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2011-01-17 13:30