Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with coding an LED puzzle game ? — Parallax Forums

Help with coding an LED puzzle game ?

kidsasukekidsasuke Posts: 8
edited 2011-02-17 14:08 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone,

I'm new to using the BASIC Stamp discovery kit and am not THAT familiar with proper syntax yet. I was looking to design a basic puzzle game where you're trying to turn all 7 LEDs in a line off without having them all turn on. The plan is that whenever you change the state of any LED, the adjacent ones will change states (which is probably going to be my biggest hurdle if possible at all with this kit).

So far, I've been trying to simply code a piezo speaker to sound either a failure or victory sound depending on the outcome of the game (all on or all off). I assumed that the following code would accomplish this (with the series of high/low statements at the bottom for testing whether or not the code worked)

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

' Creating a binary puzzle game with two pushbuttons/possibly debug inputs......probably debug inputs....but hey, who knows?
' Object of the game is to make all of the lights turn off without making them all turn on. When one light is turned on the
' adjacent lights will change states. There will be a total of 7 LEDs and they will start in a random pattern (hopefully).

' Pins 0 - 6 will be the LEDs and a piezo speaker (pin15) will make a fail sound upon losing, or a victory fanfare upon winning!

' Start by creating the victory and failure sounds.

state VAR Bit
counter VAR Word

IF (IN0 AND IN1 AND IN2 AND IN3 AND IN4 AND IN5 AND IN6 = 1) THEN
FOR counter = 1 TO 10
HIGH 15
PAUSE counter
LOW 15
PAUSE counter
NEXT

FOR counter = 1 TO 20
HIGH 15
PAUSE counter
LOW 15
PAUSE counter
NEXT

FOR counter = 1 TO 40
HIGH 15
PAUSE counter
LOW 15
PAUSE counter
NEXT

ENDIF

HIGH 0
LOW 1
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 4
HIGH 5
HIGH 6