Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help with programming question. — Parallax Forums

Need help with programming question.

PTaylorPTaylor Posts: 12
edited 2011-01-07 11:10 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to stamps, and have been playing around with a few circuits here and there. So far, so good.
The project I am playing with right now is from this page:
hxxp://www.emesystems.com/OL2therm.htm (replace xx with tt)

Basic Stamp and Thermocouples

I've got the program running, all is working correctly. It displays the correct temperature in the debug terminal.
Well, I've been playing with converting the temperature from C to F, and I've got it displaying that correctly, but one thing I cannot figure out is how to save or store the values in a variable.
The program does store the data captured from the SHIFTIN command into a variable named RESULTS, and then it uses the debug command to modify the data and display it as a number in the DEBUG window.
If I use the DEBUG command to display what value is stored in the variable RESULTS, it displays an ASCII character. not what I want, I want to store the actual number (C or F) into a variable for use later, and I'm drawing a blank. Any suggestions?

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2011-01-07 10:49
    Dig deeper into DEBUG in PBASIC Help, focus on the examples there using the DEC formatter.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-01-07 10:49