Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Serial Cable help to test reading stamp SEROUT — Parallax Forums

Serial Cable help to test reading stamp SEROUT

RonDonRonDon Posts: 2
edited 2011-01-09 15:23 in BASIC Stamp
Greetings,

I am new to working with the BASIC Stamp II. I am using an old BSII with a carrier (2 - I think) board. I have no problems sending BS2 code to the stamp using the carrier board through a standard DB9 serial extension cable. I have been able to make LEDs blink as I learn about the stamp.

What I would like to do is to send output from the stamp to my computer's serial port. I have a simple BS2 program that sends stuff to PIN 16 using the SEROUT command. Also, I have a VB .net app (VS 2010) that allows me to select a com port and read any input from it.

Here is the question:

HOW DO I WIRE UP A SERIAL CABLE (DB9) TO THE STAMP WITHOUT USING THE CARRIER BOARD? ...like a real-world application if I were to measure temperature and log it every hour on my PC for example.

By placing the stamp on a breadboard with the program already downloaded to it:

- Do I supply power (+) to the chip using PIN 24 - VIN?
- Which PIN gets the (-) VSS??
- Can I use a regulated 12v power supply?

I tried wiring up a DB9 connector as follows:

DB1 - not used
DB2 -> SOUT
DB3 -> SIN
DB4 -> Not sure if I need to use this...?
DB 5 -> VSS
DB6 tied to DB7 with a jumper
DB8 - not used
DB9 - not used

Would this work?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Ron
01/03/2011

Comments

• RonDonRonDon Posts: 2
    edited 2011-01-05 11:13
    Hi PJ,

Very nice development environment that you constructed! I may try something like that in the future.

From the pictures I still can not figure out the proper DB9 pins to stamp pin connections. --sorry!

I think I figured out how to power the stamp properly without using the Carrier board?