Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Joystick Control — Parallax Forums

Joystick Control

BIG BIG ALBIG BIG AL Posts: 7
edited 2010-12-30 21:00 in BASIC Stamp
I'm a rookie trying to program a BASIC stamp so I can control an Underwater ROV with an old PC joystick. I have a Basic Stamp 2 Version C, a PWM Pal, a 1uF capacitor, a 220 Ohm resistor, and a PC Raider joystick (from waaaaay back in the day). This is all I have so far:

' ROV - TestRcToPulse

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

timeCounter VAR Word
counter VAR Byte
pulse VAR Byte

DEBUG CLS

HIGH 7
DEBUG "Charging...", CR

PAUSE 1000

DEBUG CR, CR, "Measuring decay time.", CR, CR
INPUT 7

DO
PAUSE 100 'Originally PAUSE 1
timeCounter = timeCounter + 1
LOOP UNTIL IN7 = 0

DEBUG "Decay time: ", DEC timeCounter, CR

IF timeCounter < 63 THEN jargon
timeCounter = 63
jargon:
pulse = timeCounter * 4

DEBUG "Pulse: ", DEC pulse

DO
FOR counter = 0 TO pulse
HIGH 1 'Originally 14
NEXT
FOR counter = pulse TO 252
LOW 1 'Originally 14
NEXT
LOOP

Before I can add motors and a motor driver, I need to get this program to work. Sometimes, the timeCounter value is outrageously high in all joystick positions, so the pulse value is always 252. If I change the rate at which the Stamp counts to get a lower timeCounter value, pulse gets outrageously low. And in any case, the numbers steadily rise the longer I keep the stamp plugged in. I'm pretty lost right now. Any words of guidance?

Comments

• $WMc%$WMc% Posts: 1,884
    edited 2010-12-29 18:47
  • Grumpy_SmurfGrumpy_Smurf Posts: 6
    edited 2010-12-30 00:49
    A good tutorial on using an old analog joystick with a stamp here:
    http://www.yourwarrantyisvoid.com/2010/02/03/basic-stamp-a-quick-guide-on-using-a-legacy-joystick/

Pictures and BS2 code for down-load
    I used this to make my joystick mod and made a mini board for holding the capacitors and resistors (see photos).