Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New to GPS and have many questions. — Parallax Forums

New to GPS and have many questions.

MarkSMarkS Posts: 342
edited 2010-12-19 19:52 in Accessories
OK, first, the back story. I am a transit bus driver in Oklahoma City. Sadly, the agency is rather small and underfunded. Back in 1990, the Americans with Disabilities Act was passed and it mandated many changes to how transit buses operate. One of the mandates was that all time points and points of interest along the route must be called out. Larger transit agencies purchase annunciators that are programmed with all of the points recorded in some audio format and tied with a GPS receiver, everything is called out automatically through the bus' PA system. Naturally, those systems are many thousands of dollars per unit and retrofitting our buses would cost the agency millions.

I HATE calling out stops. So, I got to thinking and realized that I could make a small and simple annunciator for my own use with the electronics knowledge I have. The one problem is that I have never tried to interface with a GPS module and I know nothing about what data I would get, nor how to make this work.

Basically, along the route would be various "GPS points" (for lack of a better term) stored on a flash card. The microcontroller would poll the GPS module and compare the data with the pre-programmed points along the route. When the bus gets within X feet/meters of a GPS point, the appropriate sound file(s) would be played.

Herein lies the problem. I do not know how to get the GPS points along the route to program into the route file. I do not know what type of data GPS modules outputs, and how it corresponds to real world locations. I do not know how to compare the stored points with the current GPS data to determine distance from the stored points.