Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Water Skimming Robot — Parallax Forums

Water Skimming Robot

edited 2011-04-12 04:57 in Robotics
Hey guys,
I'm relatively new to the Parallax community as well as engineering and I was wondering if you would be so kind as to help me with a project of mine. My problems are mainly with hardware. I am making a water-proof robot that propels itself across the surface of water using two motors (I don't know what to get!) on either side. Also, the shape of the robot would be cylindrical and its encasing will be a heavy-duty plastic that I'm getting custom-made. However, I am running into problems in the formative process of this project. First of all, I need to know if standard servos can cut it when it comes to the water! I'm going to make some sort of propeller that will attach to the servos that will keep it moving at a steady, moderately fast rate. I will probably water-proof the servos with Plasti-dip so that if water does get inside my robot, the servos will be okay. Second of all, I happened to notice that Parallax has released a lovely new 9-volt solar panel that would be fantastic for my project :smile: Would these work as the only source of power for my robot? Another concern for me is keeping my Board of Education and Basic Stamp II happy and dry. As I said, my robot is made for going on top of (rather than under) water. Do any of you have experience with water-proofing micro-controllers? My last issue is sonar. I'm using the ping)) sonar sensor for the robot to avoid objects and it has worked marvelously for me in the past. Would it function with a layer of plastic in front of it.

Thanks for listening to my long-winded topic!!

-Matt

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-12-12 20:40