Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Autonomous robot project — Parallax Forums

Autonomous robot project

f0rce4f0rce4 Posts: 4
edited 2010-12-07 02:41 in Robotics
Hi everyone,

I am a student mechanical engineering and I've been assigned a very cool mechatronics project. The simple idea is that an autonomous vehicle must be able to bring a load (approx. 4 kg) from point A to point B with obstacles along the way. The vehicle will have to avoid the obstacles and drive over a ramp at a certain point, so it is important to keep the load balanced so it doesn't tip over.

Now I've got a good idea about how I'm going to make a balancing rig for the load, however I have no experience yet with programming whatsoever. So programming a robot to be autonomous will be a challenge for me. Doing some searching on the web I found this magnificent little thing called the Boe-Bot and it's Basic Stamp micro controller. I'm very keen on using the electronic components of the Boe-Bot to upscale it to a level where it can actually carry a load of 4 kg.

Now for that to work I can imagine that I'll have to fit bigger electric motors, power supply and probably bigger sensors. I have some concerns that the electronic components might not be able to handle the increased amount of current going through the micro controller.

So my question would be; Is it at all possible to upscale the Boe-Bot while keeping the electronics so I can still program it using the software? Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks in advance!

Note: I haven't actually bought the Boe-Bot yet, so please don't refer me to any manuals, because I don't have them.

Comments

• Adam WieslerAdam Wiesler Posts: 81
    edited 2010-12-05 09:28