Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Right Starting Point for my project? — Parallax Forums

Right Starting Point for my project?

Tim HallTim Hall Posts: 5
edited 2010-11-20 21:11 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,

I have some basic hobby-electronics experience, but I'm new to microcontrollers. Could anyone tell me if the BASIC Stamp 1 or 2 is right for this project?

I have a very clear, specific program for this project, but I'm still trying to wrap my head around some of the basics of microcontroller applications. Here's my program...it's basically an all-in-one line-voltage climate controller:

A) Temperature and Humidity Sensing
B) Four Programmable Timer functions
C) Control Three 2Amp (minimum) Line Voltage (110VAC) Relays
D) Control Two Low-voltage DC Relays
E) Menu-based interface w/ LCD 2x16 Character Display + six Tactile Switches

The timers are count-down functions, and do not need to be based on "real" date/time reference.

I realize this is a pretty advanced project for a beginner, but I'm die hard at rolling my own. Again, I'm just not sure if the BASIC Stamp is the right starting point for this project. Any input would would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Tim

Comments

• Tim HallTim Hall Posts: 5
    edited 2010-11-20 15:02
    Haha, I see just a few threads before me is someone working on a beer-brewing application.

Just FYI to everyone, my application here is also fermentation, but much broader. This is going to be a controller for a fermentation cabinet that will hold all sorts of things...beer, wine, cheese, tempeh, miso, kraut...

Again, thanks for any input.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-11-20 15:11