Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Best sensor strategy for locating a person in a house? — Parallax Forums

Best sensor strategy for locating a person in a house?

scurrierscurrier Posts: 32
edited 2010-10-20 18:12 in Accessories
Hello,

I am new to parallax and the propeller chip, but I bought the education kit and the pro development board and I am really pumped to start making some useful gadgets! (First post on the forums!)

One idea that I have is a gadget for turning lights on and off in rooms as you move in and out of them. It might use X10 commands or some other method to turn the lights on and off. I am only just starting to think about this, but I am really at a loss as to what the best sensor strategy would be. I am thinking that each person would have to carry around some kind of dongle or something on their keys. Some issues:
1. How to keep the dongle relatively low power? Recharging nightly might be acceptable.
2. How to prevent interference between dongles and the detection method?
3. Would personalization be possible? i.e. being able to detect who is in what room. This could allow the system to personalize your light preferences (or temp or something in the future).

I'm sure I'll think of more problems to overcome. I was thinking that some kind of ultrasonic triagulation system might work. Just have the person carry around a small emitter at a certain frequency that chirps every eigth of a second or so. You could personalize based on the frequency. Drawbacks are you have to put up base stations all over. Maybe that's not so bad though.

What other sensor strategies are out there?

Thanks,
Shaun

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2010-10-14 10:26
    If you're not trying to identify individuals, but just the presence of someone in the room, an IR motion detector would probably be adequate.

-Phil
  • W9GFOW9GFO Posts: 4,010
    edited 2010-10-14 12:01