Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Tech Info — Parallax Forums

Tech Info

Copy'nPasteCopy'nPaste Posts: 4
edited 2010-10-14 17:05 in Accessories
Hi, I'm a noob when it comes to DSO type scopes, so,
what is the highest frequency sine/sawtooth/square wave that the PropScope can display ?
Will it for example show a reasonable representation of a PAL video waveform ?

I picked up that Hanno is working on software that can decode the more common types of data strings, now THAT would be a huge selling point !

Regards,
Copy'nPaste

Comments

• Copy'nPasteCopy'nPaste Posts: 4
    edited 2010-10-12 10:14
    "Bump" ^

Nobody ?

I really need this info, please :smilewinkgrin:
  • hover1hover1 Posts: 1,929
    edited 2010-10-12 13:25
    A search of the PropScope threads, found this thread:

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?t=121211

Jim

"Bump" ^

Nobody ?

I really need this info, please :smilewinkgrin:
    edited 2010-10-13 04:18
    Thanks Jim,
    I did search, honest, but missed that one :o
    12.5 MHz analoque waveform sound ok to me :scool:

The most I require is to look at a baseband video signal, of which the highest frequency component is about 5.5 MHz, so I can safely assume the PropScope is up to the task :confused:

Actually, reading the previous link, my understanding is to sample a waveform 10 times/bits, means that at 25 MS/s I can only sample a 2.5MHz waveform ......
    Mmm, seem to have confused myself now.
  • David CarrierDavid Carrier Posts: 294
    edited 2010-10-13 14:33
    The PropScope will show a PAL signal with reasonable quality. The 12.5 MHz cutoff is for detecting the presence of the signal. If you put in a square wave at under 12.5 MHz, it will show up pretty well, but you won't be able to tell what type of waveform it is. At 5.5 MHz, a sine wave will start looking like a sine wave, but your peak-to-peak measurements may be a little short. A 2.5 MHz sine wave would be very clear.

— David Carrier
    edited 2010-10-13 23:31