Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
solenoid with basic stamp2 — Parallax Forums

solenoid with basic stamp2

BornaBorna Posts: 36
edited 2010-10-10 09:45 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,
I'm very new to PIC programing and my knowledge of electronic is very limited
I'm working on a project to build a small model 4 cycle engine and I want to operate the exhaust valve with solenoid.
I'm planning to use basic stamp2 to control the timing and the operate the solenoid.
I'm thinking to have 2 hall sensors to control the closing and the opening of the exhaust valve.
The first hall sensor is located at 0 degree on a wheel, and whenever the magnet passes by, it set a pin to low so the solenoid is not powered, therefore the valve is closed. Whenever the magnet passes the second hall sensor located at 170 degree on a wheel, it set a pin to high so the solenoid is engaged to open the valve.
However the second hall sensor only set a signal if it is on the second rotation after the valve is closed.

Sensor1 at 0 degree
LOW 1 ' so no power to solenoid

sensor2 at 170 degree
if (counter = 1)
HIGH 1 ' power to the solenoid
counter = 0
else
counter = 1

The max RPM on the engine is 3000, however most of the time engine will run at 1800 RPM.

This means at 3000 RPM, the exhaust valve has to be opened every 29 ms and stays open for 10 ms.

Questions are:
Is basic stamp2 fast enough to handle this?
Do you see any issues with what I'm planning to do?
This meas the solenoid has to go from low to high 34 times in one sec. Is this possible?
Can you provide an idea how I need to make the circuit to control the solenoid?

Thanks
Borna

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-10-09 18:39
    You will need a transister, mosfet, or relay to switch the power the solinoid needs.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-10-09 19:08
    Look at Nuts and Volts Column #6.