Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Powering LED's — Parallax Forums

Powering LED's

shanebatyshanebaty Posts: 30
edited 2010-10-07 17:36 in BASIC Stamp
Okay I am new to this, sorry if this is not the right place. A basic stamp is used in this project, so this is the first place I thought to ask.

I am working on a project that has 216 LED's. I am using the basic stamp to control them to make designs. My plan is to use a transistor to power 9 LED's at a time, and 3 transistors to one IO pin on the stamp. So 1 pin turns on 3 transistors which turn on 9 LED's. So 27 LED's total to 1 IO pin.

My Question is, would the 2N3904 NPN Transistor be able to handle the current from 9 LED's? I just wanted to hear a second opinion before I started Burning up transistors.

Thank You :-)

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-10-07 07:42
    Figure it out ...

Assume you completely turn the transistor on (saturate it - provide enough base current so it's completely on - see here).

You didn't say how much current your LEDs take - assume 20mA each (for a standard LED - find the datasheet for your LEDs)

Look up the datasheet for your 2N3904 transistors (here). You want to know the maximum collector current (200mA for Fairchild's).

There's still the question of heat dissipation. A transistor isn't a perfect switch. There's still a voltage drop across it even when saturated. Usually this is 0.3V. At 200mA, this is a power loss of 200mA x 0.3V = 600mW. You'll have to look at the ambient temperature and how the transistor is mounted to figure out whether it can get rid of that amount of heat continuously.