Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Adding accelerometer, gyroscope, and wireless transceiver to golf club — Parallax Forums

Adding accelerometer, gyroscope, and wireless transceiver to golf club

nathan88nathan88 Posts: 4
edited 2010-10-06 11:36 in Accessories
Greetings.

I am in the initial phase of planning a project to install an accelerometer, gyroscope, and wireless transceiver to a golf club. The overall idea of this project is to transmit the acceleration and yaw data to my basic stamp through a wireless transceiver. Based off this data, I would like to generate a graphical representation of the golf ball's trajectory as my output (including distance traveled, peak velocity, etc.).

Does anyone have suggestions as to what components would work best?

I am currently looking at using a Hitachi H48C Tri-Axis Accelerometer Module,
a LISY300 Gyroscope Module, and a 433 MHz RF Transceiver.

What additional components are required for this application?

I am new to the micro controller/microprocessor community, so any suggestions/advice is welcome.

Thank you.

Comments

• John AbshierJohn Abshier Posts: 1,116
    edited 2010-10-01 21:13
    A quick Google search showed golf swings peak out at over 2000 degrees/sec, well beyond the LISY300's capability.

John Abshier
  • ElectricAyeElectricAye Posts: 4,561
    edited 2010-10-01 21:20
    nathan88 wrote: »
    ....I would like to generate a graphical representation of the golf ball's trajectory as my output (including distance traveled, peak velocity, etc.). ...

Welcome to the forums.

First, I'm a little confused. Are you wanting to put a sensor in the golf club or in the golf ball?

If you're intending on cramming all of those chips into a golf ball, I'm concerned that your golf ball would have elastic and flight characteristics that are unrelated to normal golf balls.