Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need Help Coding/Configuring Wireless Device In Basic Stamp 2 — Parallax Forums

Need Help Coding/Configuring Wireless Device In Basic Stamp 2

Im New To MicroIm New To Micro Posts: 42
edited 2010-12-17 08:02 in Accessories
Hi all,

Over at electro-tech-online.com I was asking others what I needed to buy to control things on my Board of education wirelessly, such as, control my Boe Bot wirelessly, or turn LEDs on and off wirelessly with a controller (one I create or a professional one already made).

Anyway, they referred me to the following two devices/chips, but the problem is, I have no idea what code I should use or if a tutorial is even out there to help me set these up to link to each other and send bytes back and forth.

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8945

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8947

I saw that Basic Stamp 2 uses the serin and serout, but it just didn't give me enough information on how to set these two particular components up.

Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• Daniel HarrisDaniel Harris Posts: 207
    edited 2010-09-30 02:08
    Hello Im New...,

I took a look at the datasheet for those wireless modules you linked to. They look pretty snazzy, and for a total cost of less than 10 bucks for the pair, thats pretty hard to beat :).

The BS2 should be able to talk to these things nicely - there doesn't look to be any real configuration necessary. Now, Im not sure about this because I have never used these modules and their datasheets are a little sparse about how to communicate between them, but it looks like you can send data to the transmitter and have the receiver echo that data on the other side - this is very similar to the Linx Transceiver modules that Parallax sells (_this one_).

The following is a short code sequence for the transmitter:
    '{$STAMP BS2}
    '{$PBASIC 2.5}

x VAR Word
    y VAR Word

DO