Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
wirelessly controlling a pot — Parallax Forums

wirelessly controlling a pot

unlimited1320unlimited1320 Posts: 1
edited 2010-09-25 07:52 in Accessories
Ok guys I am not very experienced with this so bare with me. I have a project I have been brainstorming about for a few days now. I have researched it and learned as much as I understand and now I am hoping to get some input form you guys. Here is the plan
I want to wirelessly control a pot from about 15 feet away and also a single contact used as well. The unit im working with gets controlled by a foot pedal.. Inside the foot pedal there is a 1k 1t 2 watt pot and a contact switch that turns the circuit on. I can relocate the pot and switch to a box mounted to the unit and I want to control it from 15 feet away. Now can I use a new pot mounted in the existing pedal and run it to a controller and send the signal to the box housing the original pot and control that with a 360 degree servo and a belt and pully? and also have it activate the switch in the box. How would I achieve this? What would I need to purchase and how hard would it be to program? Its for a friends school project so I dont want to spend a fortune doing it either. One more thing to add. There is another device which uses different frequencies close by. So interference may be a problem, Im not sure if it will so I will have to try it out and see . Any way to do it infrared? Would it have to be in a direct line of sight?
Thanks guys

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-09-24 18:34