Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
help me architect an industrial temperature controller — Parallax Forums

help me architect an industrial temperature controller

JasonCJasonC Posts: 3
edited 2010-09-22 17:34 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, I'm new here, pls. be kind. :)

I'm an analog design engineer, and not entirely new to microcontrollers.
In a former life I did C programming and I know a bit of BASIC. And I recently completed a small personal project using an Arduino.

The temperature controller needs to have an IR temp sensor, an LCD readout, 2 push buttons, and one output for the heater (on/off command). It's a one-off project, and thus not super cost sensitive.

Priority is in ease of coding. I'm not a software weenie, my wares are hard. ;) I want to reuse as much code as possible, especially the serial comm stuff. (to the IR temp sensor, and the LCD readout). This is why I'm considering the Stamp over the Arduino, I like the sample code for the below IR module and the LCD readout. It will take me 10x longer writing the serial comm stuff than writing the heater control loop stuff (it's bang-bang and I have analog and digital control system design experience).

So I'm thinking of using this IR temperature module
MLX90614 Infrared Thermometer Module
http://www.parallax.com/StoreSearchResults/tabid/768/txtSearch/MLX90614/List/0/SortField/4/ProductID/539/Default.aspx

and this LCD readout
http://www.parallax.com/StoreSearchResults/tabid/768/txtSearch/lcd/List/0/SortField/4/ProductID/50/Default.aspx

and the Basic Stamp 2.

So my first Q is - can the BS2 do serial comm with both the LCD and the IR module?

TIA.

Comments

• $WMc%$WMc% Posts: 1,884
    edited 2010-09-21 16:16
    JasonC wrote: »
    Hi, I'm new here, pls. be kind. :)

I'm an analog design engineer, and not entirely new to microcontrollers.
    In a former life I did C programming and I know a bit of BASIC. And I recently completed a small personal project using an Arduino.