Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reseting the Basic Stamp's memory — Parallax Forums

Reseting the Basic Stamp's memory

Dell_ConagherDell_Conagher Posts: 2
edited 2010-09-21 09:30 in BASIC Stamp
Hey guys, i'm a student working with the "Robotics with the Boe-Bot" kit and I'm having some trouble with the on stamp memory. I'm using the Board of Education stamp just for info on what i'm working with. When i type in a pulseout command onto the Stamp program and hit play, the servo-wheels do what i tell them. Yet when i type in a newer program and hit play, the old program still runs; Completely negating what I've just entered :( I've skimmed through both the Robotics with the Boe-Bot and the Whats a Micro Controller manuels searching for an answer, but to no avail. There is a reset button on the board, but inseat of wiping the memory, it only halts the saved command for the duration of me pusing the reset button O.o
If anyone has any advice for this, it would be greatly appreciated since it's hindering my classwork quite a bit. Thanks again guys :D

Comments

• sylvie369sylvie369 Posts: 1,622
    edited 2010-09-20 06:11
    I'm not sure what you mean by "hit play", but when you load a new program to the Stamp, it should overwrite whatever had been there before.

You are correct that hitting the reset button won't do it. That just restarts the processor, which loads and then runs whatever program is currently in the EEPROM.

I suspect that either

(A) your "newer program" IS running, and just isn't doing what you're expecting it to do. Try loading a new program that doesn't do anything other than displaying "New Program Running" to the screen.