Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Problems With A New Chip — Parallax Forums

Problems With A New Chip

Matt32493Matt32493 Posts: 23
edited 2010-09-11 20:39 in Propeller 1
I have become interested in using the propeller chip, so i ordered a setup, and today attempted to try my hand at spin. I got a hang of what i had to do, however, none of my programs seem to work. I have the dip controller, dip eeprom, and the prop clip. I was able to download to both the ram, and rom, however nothing appears to be doing anything. I have no leds flashing at the ports that they should be, and voltage is constant at .5v, whether the port is set to high or low. can someone please tell me what i may be doing wrong. thanks.
~Matt

Comments

  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2010-09-11 20:18
    Post your code.
  • TubularTubular Posts: 4,718
    edited 2010-09-11 20:23
    Matt, if you can download already you're most of the way there.

    Have you set the direction of the ports to be "outputs" rather than the inputs they start up as? Use the DIRA[pin]:=1 to set a desired pin as an output. Also remember there is a 1 pin offset, eg P0 comes out on pin 1 of the DIP package, etc.
    http://www.instructables.com/id/Programming-the-Propeller-Microcontroller/step3/Spin-Basics/
  • Matt32493Matt32493 Posts: 23
    edited 2010-09-11 20:25
    con
    
      _clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x
      _xinfreq = 5_000_000
    
    PUB Run
    
    DIRA[16] := %1
    
    repeat 10
      OutA[16] := 1
      WaitCnt(40_000_000 + Cnt)
      OutA[16] := 0
      WaitCnt(40_000_000 + Cnt)
    
  • Matt32493Matt32493 Posts: 23
    edited 2010-09-11 20:30
    i got the one pin offset, and i got the setting as output, but still nothing, with led connected a static of .5v full time, and disconnected i get static 1v full time. i have tried with 2 props.
  • ElectricAyeElectricAye Posts: 4,561
    edited 2010-09-11 20:39
    Are you sure that you've got a good ground that the LED current can flow into? Have you compared voltage measurements taken at several places in your circuit that are all supposed to be at the same ground?
  • Matt32493Matt32493 Posts: 23
    edited 2010-09-11 20:39
    i figured it out... im just a little special is all...
    i was looking at the programing diagram, and did not notice that there is vss and vdd on both sides of the chip...
Sign In or Register to comment.