Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie questions — Parallax Forums

Newbie questions

HackWarHackWar Posts: 17
edited 2010-08-31 19:59 in Robotics
I bought the BoeBot kit last week and so far it has been a fantastic introduction to robotics. I'm an experienced software developer but I did not have any experience in combining it with hardware. So it didn't took me long to learn the PBASIC language. However I learned a lot about prototyping circuits, and the book was really helpful and the Ping))) sensor works fantastic!

I still do have got a couple of questions which I'd like your comment on:

1. The breadboard on the Boe seems rather small which makes it hard to add a lot of sensors/led's/etc... Is there an easy way to extend the Boe breadboard with a larger one?

2. In the PBASIC language if you need to store over 256 bytes, your only option is to use a WORD (or an array of BYTE). Is there no other type between the BYTE(256) and WORD(65536)? The WORD type might reserve a lot of memory I won't use, and the BYTE is too small. I've never had to deal with these kind of memory issues when declaring variables, so your help is appreciated.

3. The BASIC stamp does not provide a lot of memory and does not support multithreading. For example: i'd like to have my boe bot scan the area while driving at the same time. So it seems I'm in need of a new microcontroller which does support that, but it probably won't fit on the Boe. Am I right?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• John R.John R. Posts: 1,376
    edited 2010-08-26 07:28
    You can use a larger breadboard by running jumpers from the BOE to a separate breadboard.