Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Serial Communication over RF Transceivers — Parallax Forums

Serial Communication over RF Transceivers

msoccer0607msoccer0607 Posts: 4
edited 2010-08-15 20:46 in BASIC Stamp
I'm somewhat new to basic stamp and am having problems sending data between two Parallax RF Transceivers. Here is the code I'm using for each transceiver:

Transmitter:

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

counter VAR Word
distance VAR Byte

rxd PIN 15
txflo PIN 13
txd PIN 14

distance = 20
FOR counter = 0 to 30
SEROUT txd\txflo, 84, [distance]
NEXT

Receiver:

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

counter VAR Word
distance VAR Byte

rxd PIN 4
txflo PIN 2
txd PIN 1

FOR counter = 0 TO 5
distance=0
DO WHILE (distance = 0)
SERIN rxd\txflo, 84, [distance(counter)]
LOOP
DEBUG DEC distance, CR
NEXT

Neither of these programs does anything. I'm just trying to use them to learn how to use RF communication. The problem I'm having is that I need to send distance 30 or more times just to get it 5 times at the receiver. I don't understand why that is being as I'm using flow control. Also, I have to have a "DO WHILE" loop around the SERIN otherwise SERIN reads a bunch of zeros and I get no useful data. I don't understand this either, but I'm assuming it has something to do with the transceivers. I would really appreciate it if someone could explain why I'm having these two problems!

Comments

• MoskogMoskog Posts: 554
    edited 2010-08-15 00:22
    Hi

I highly recommend that you take a look at the progamming examples in the 433 MHz RF Transceiver pdf-documentation:

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/rf/27982-433MHzRFTransceiver-v1.1.pdf

If you still cant figure out how to solve your problems, please tell us!
  • msoccer0607msoccer0607 Posts: 4
    edited 2010-08-15 09:40
    That isn't exactly the same transceiver as i have, but they are very similar. After reading the manual, I still don't understand why my program doesn't work the way i want it to.