Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Jittery servos. 360 deg servos — Parallax Forums

Jittery servos. 360 deg servos

fltcmdrfltcmdr Posts: 14
edited 2010-08-08 09:15 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all
Im going through the BS course "whats a microcontroller" and have succesfully completed all the projects up to chapter 4.
This one uses pushbuttons to operate the servo. It works fine but at the end of the range of motion the servo "shakes" or vibrates. This is not acceptable for my robot project. How can I stop this???
· In addition the book says not to use 360 degree servos.· Why is this cuz I need servos that can rotate through 360 degrees and beyond to operate the gun turrets. My goal is to operate multiple turrets from one director so that the turrets follow the directors bearing. this is all probably easy for all of you, but Im just beginning.
Thanx
MC
·

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2010-08-05 17:24
    The Servo you're using was designed to control model airplanes or model cars by Radio Control. As such, 360 degrees of rotation wasn't really needed.

There's "Modified Servos" that will spin continuously, making them useful for small cheap electric wheel motors, but then you lose the positioning control. I think that's what the book was talking about.

Most model gun-turrets only have to rotate about 270 degrees -- shooting up your own super-structure is generally frowned upon.

Having said all that, they DO have servo's for use with model sail-boats, that will rotate twice or three times -- you might try those if you're really serious about that 360 degree use.
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2010-08-05 17:28
    Oh, and each servo is slightly different, so you need to figure out where each one's limits are, and make sure not to bang up against them, that's really hard on the gears. And it takes a lot of power.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2010-08-05 17:34