Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Garage Door Opener Using 433 MHz Transceiver — Parallax Forums

Garage Door Opener Using 433 MHz Transceiver

simpsonmichael1simpsonmichael1 Posts: 13
edited 2010-07-28 16:49 in Accessories
27982-M.jpg
RF·433 Mhz Transciever module.· Other than the what's provided on the website, is there a simple way to use these to control a switch remotely?· I looked over the documentation, but I'm· not sure where to start.· I called Parallax Tech Support, but I was told to check the documents located under the part in question.· As a beginner, I did not really understand how to use this transceiver as a remote control device.· This was going to be used to remotely open a garage door, but I had to settle on a simple RFID access method.· Could someone address a simple example other than what on the website?· Thank you.·

Post Edited (simpsonmichael1) : 7/27/2010 12:25:02 PM GMT

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-07-26 22:13
    This is a communications device and as such sends serial data so you will need something on the recieving end that will take the data and make decisions with it. If you are looking for something that throws a switch when it gets a signal this is not the device you are looking for (OB1). How were you planning to use it?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • simpsonmichael1simpsonmichael1 Posts: 13
    edited 2010-07-26 22:45
    ··· I have two BS2 units and two transceivers.· I will program in basic via my laptop.· A 5 volt relay on the local end will be engaged with a basic stamp·via a transitor (protected by a diode).· Currently, my RFID is controlled by a basic stamp, which controls the garage door·via transitor-relay pair.· So, I want to add a local/remote transceiver to control the garage door from a 10 to 100 feet LOS.· Please advise.
  • Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2010-07-27 00:07
    Add a subject line to your post, please.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Ken Gracey