Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SPINbuilder: A GUI controlled SPIN compiler for students and newbies! — Parallax Forums

SPINbuilder: A GUI controlled SPIN compiler for students and newbies!

MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
edited 2010-07-29 16:53 in Propeller 1
Hello everyone!

Behold, the first GUI Spin compiler since 12Blocks: SPINbuilder!
I have worked hours on getting this implanted with every function a newbie could want, so I finally see it fit to give a BETA release.

First, what does it do?
SPINbuilder uses a GUI (Graphical User Interface) to give the spin code a select-and-click feature. All code words are spelled out in plain english, and helpful Info buttons describe each function in detail. It is designed so that people that do not know how to write spin code, can. You need no knowledge of SPIN, or even any language, to operate. Although some experience is helpful. With practice, you will be able to quickly create and compile SPIN code without ever knowing how to write it.

Here are the main features of SPINbuilder:
- Handles IF..THEN loops with variable comparing and multiple comparison signs
- Handles REPEAT loops with all the add-on features, such as REPEAT UNTIL, REPEAT WHILE, REPEAT [noparse][[/noparse]variable] from [noparse][[/noparse]value] to [noparse][[/noparse]value], etc.
- Handles CASE loops with value and variable matches
- Gives you access to commands like REBOOT, QUIT, NEXT
- Gives you I/O control including an easy to use output function and an INA function on the IF..THEN drop-down menu
- Easy PAUSE command allows you to set a pause length in milliseconds
- Data functions allow you to create variables and describe their purpose - which is added to a lookup table for easy reference
- You can set variables to any value in-line just like you would with the assignment operator
- It has 4 implanted objects (OK, 3 now but the 4th will come soon) including TV Text, keyboard, mouse, WAV player
- Code will compile with Propellent.exe (included with install package and will run automatically) and will throw the automatic errors
- Colored block separators allow for easy location of certain controls
- Easy for newbies to pick up the SPIN language as it is printed in a selectable window

Is that enough yet? No, I am planning to add full COGNEW support and allow for multiple PUB routines, so this is the "LITE" version.

However, as much as I have tried to get this error free, I know that there are still errors in the code, so if I can have some people sign up as "BETA testers" I will email them an installer for the program and they can send me back a report with errors they encountered and suggestions for features.

You may ask, why do I not just post this on the forum?

The reason for this is because after some discussing with Hanno (Yes, this guy is nice enough to give advice to competition smile.gif ) he advised that I sell my program, rather then just give it away. I think that I will, but I am also considering distributing a striped down version for free. Then I will have this LITE version (bug free by then!), and then the full version with COG launching/addressing and user-linked objects.

I've attached a screenshot, tell me what you think! smile.gif

attachment.php?attachmentid=71915


Thanks,
Micro

P.S. NOTE: This software is shown to work on Windows Vista and 7 ONLY. XP has produced only failures. Work is commencing on fixing this.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my new website!!

Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif

Post Edited (Microcontrolled) : 7/28/2010 9:05:42 PM GMT
1440 x 900 - 180K
«1

Comments

  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-21 23:40
    That looks good. I'd be interested nin helping to test it for ya.

    Joe

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-22 00:40
    I'll send you the installer, but I need your email. Thanks for your interest!

    Also, I must note, on Vista, you may need "administrator's permission" to compile the code. You should right click and "run as administrator".

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-22 01:57
    No Vista here. My desktop is XP & my laptop is Win 7, but I'll reember that though.

    Joe

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol
  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-22 16:43
    I tested it on my laptop & desktop, same result. Imediate program lock up & shutdown before anything is launched.

    Joe

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-22 18:08
    Well THAT isn't supposed to happen. Let me see what could be wrong. Do you have any virus scanning software? Firewall? etc?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-22 18:09
    Wait.... is it the INSTALLER or the program itself? The installer may not be able to create the directory. Create a file "Microcontrolled" under "Program Files" and try again.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • VaatiVaati Posts: 712
    edited 2010-07-22 18:25
    jknightandkarr,

    On your laptop, you said you have windows 7 -- what version of 7 is it? I have 7 starter on this netbook, and the program installed fine...
    Also, when did it lock up? Was the installer even able to launch?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    MCU Projects·- my new site where I will be posting all projects, code, etc.

    Quit buying all those fixed voltage regulators, and·get an Adjustable Power Supply·for your projects!· Includes an LED testing terminal!

    SD Card Adapter·- Add extra memory to your next Propeller project with ease!
  • WynandWynand Posts: 39
    edited 2010-07-22 19:05
    I would also be interested in testing for you... Will P.M. you my email address...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Why didn't I think of THAT!!!!

    Post Edited (Wynand) : 7/22/2010 7:56:10 PM GMT
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-22 19:06
    I just tested this my XP, and I got failure. Maybe this should be Vista and up.
    I'm now trying to install Visual Basic on my XP computer to debug it properly. Sorry for that.

    Micro

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • zappmanzappman Posts: 418
    edited 2010-07-22 21:40
    If you would like a Propeller Newbie to give it a Spin, I'll give it a try.
    Will PM you my e-mail address.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Visit Zappman's Blog at Savage Circuits
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-22 22:37
    Thank you to all beta testers! I have 5 people signed up at the moment (and one with a failure!), but I am still welcoming more people to sign up if they would like. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!

    Micro

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-07-23 00:59
    Great work Microcontrolled smile.gif

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-23 03:36
    It installed just fine, just refuses to start the program itself. I got 7 Home Premium I think.

    Joe

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol
  • Jorge PJorge P Posts: 385
    edited 2010-07-23 05:30
    @Microcontrolled
    If your development machine is Windows 7, maybee vista too, the default .NET framework is version 3.5 or version 4 in VB, which Windows XP cant use.

    I am almost certain that you would have to redesign the project to make it usable by XP, If you were to change the .NET framework version now, it would generate a tone of errors and you would have to mess with stuff that VB generates automaticaly. So just create a new empty project in VB and set the .NET framework version before doing anything, you will still need to remove a few "Referances".

    I will down load and run the program, If you intend on this being free, I would recomend putting the source on CVS at sourceforge, If you do not intend for the final release to be free, see the developer section of my website, in sig, for a software lock.

    If you do put it on CVS, let me know, I can make a C# version if you want.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ---
    http://WhatsAvailable.org Software and Gadgets for Windows 7.
  • RonPRonP Posts: 384
    edited 2010-07-23 07:15
    I would like to give it a shot if you still have room. New to the Prop but have gone through What's a Micro and Boe Bot, just about done with PE kit labs. I will PM my e-mail.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm not that bright and I can prove it.
    At the end of the day, it gets dark.
  • HumanoidoHumanoido Posts: 5,770
    edited 2010-07-23 08:24
    Microcontrolled: I'm one of your beta testers with Windows XP too.
    Here's what I see immediately after double clicking the exe icon
    (see photo).

    humanoido

    attachment.php?attachmentid=71934
    500 x 267 - 21K
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-23 10:57
    I'm not sending this out to more beta testers until I discover what the problem is. I'm working on it, though. I think that it is the .NET framework, and some people don't have it installed.
    All non-XP beta testers can install the .NET framework version 4.0 from here: www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=9cfb2d51-5ff4-4491-b0e5-b386f32c0992&displaylang=en

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-23 17:23
    Installing the Framework now & will tell what happens afterwords momentarily.

    Joe

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol
  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-23 17:30
    Installed the Framework, no change Spinbuilder still won't run on my laptop. I tried changing compatability settings to Vista & still no luck.

    Joe

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol

    Post Edited (jknightandkarr) : 7/23/2010 5:38:43 PM GMT
  • Jorge PJorge P Posts: 385
    edited 2010-07-23 17:39
    @Microcontrolled
    In the VB Project properties, you can ensure that .NET Framework Version 4 is installed by selecting its checkbox under prerequisits, and rebuild. If the end user does not have it installed, the installer will automaticaly download it.

    Prerequisits are under "Publish" in the VB project properties. You might also want to select "Windows Installer 4.5" as well...

    *EDIT* Microcontrolled, Make sure you are building your project as a NON Administrator, use a different user account on your PC to build or it, your program,·will require administrative privlages as well.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ---
    http://WhatsAvailable.org Software and Gadgets for Windows 7.

    Post Edited (Jorge P) : 7/23/2010 5:47:40 PM GMT
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-23 18:03
    Oh, well, I am the Admin of the computer. Still, I wasn't running as admin and it should still start even if it requires administrative privileges. I don't have another Vista/7 computer to test on, so I am going to try
    a different installer type to insure that it is getting all the important files onto the computer. What mystifies me is that Vaati has it running correctly. What could be different about his PC then mine? He has the
    same installer package as everyone else.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • Jorge PJorge P Posts: 385
    edited 2010-07-23 18:36
    Have them send you the dump file that would normaly be sent to microsoft, through error reporting, Like the dialog in humanoido previouse post. I think the end user can get the location of the dump by clicking "What does this error report contain?" on the dialog. Have them zip the files in the folder indicated and request they send them to you. I wish there was an option for this in the VB IDE, there may be but that much is beyond me. The report will contain some asm information about the error, I have never realy played around with the dumps, just viewed the information before sending.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ---
    http://WhatsAvailable.org Software and Gadgets for Windows 7.
  • Erik FriesenErik Friesen Posts: 1,071
    edited 2010-07-23 19:05
    If you are willing to send your complete solution I or someone may be able to help you out here. I have XP/ win7 32 and 64 on partitions for testing a .net program of mine.
  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-24 06:51
    Got your download(s), 2nd one installed on Win 7. No luck, same issue.

    Joe

    Just tried the first email you sent as well, no change.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol

    Post Edited (jknightandkarr) : 7/24/2010 6:56:13 AM GMT
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-24 12:15
    I think I have figured this out. yeah.gif
    It seems that the PowerPacks need to be installed to run the program, so I have sent off a version that doesn't use the PowerPacks for testing. I'm hoping this works....

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • Mike GMike G Posts: 2,702
    edited 2010-07-24 12:39
    Did you build this project on a 64 bit machine?
  • jknightandkarrjknightandkarr Posts: 234
    edited 2010-07-24 13:12
    Microcontrolled said...
    I think I have figured this out. yeah.gif
    It seems that the PowerPacks need to be installed to run the program, so I have sent off a version that doesn't use the PowerPacks for testing. I'm hoping this works....

    I'll be aniously awaiting for the email to test for ya. cool.gif

    Joe

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I'm going insaine. It's SOOOOOO much fun. lol
  • zappmanzappman Posts: 418
    edited 2010-07-24 14:02
    Everyone please be patient, Microcontrolled is still working out the installation problems.
    We have tried the installation several different ways now, but not there yet.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Visit Zappman's Blog at Savage Circuits
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-24 14:14
    This is not a 64-bit machine, to my knowledge anyway. I've always run 32 bit programs on it, so no.

    @jknightandkarr: I've just found this you could try: msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/vbasic/bb735936.aspx

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2010-07-25 17:55
    Zappman now has it running!! I can resume sending these to all beta testers who requested it. If you don't get yours for a while, don't worry, I'm working to get this even better!
    I'll send one to an "XP tester" to see if it will work now.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Check out my new website!!

    Use the Propeller icon!! Propeller.gif
Sign In or Register to comment.