Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Keyboard frequencies to generate different colored lights? — Parallax Forums

Keyboard frequencies to generate different colored lights?

YvonnessYvonness Posts: 4
edited 2010-07-13 15:45 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, all!· tongue.gif· I'm a newbie to all this.· This is my first time at a forum of any kind.· I'm a pianist and I've had only a bit of Stamp programming at our local community college.· I'd like to make a keyboard communicate with the stamp or propeller to make lights come out that match the color frequencies to the sound frequencies so that we can see the colors (using LEDs, lights, or those colored compact CCFL tubes) of the sounds. So, I'm asking a big question first: is it possible? I've heard about MIDI, but I also know it's possible to "listen" to frequencies.

I realize it's best to ask a specific question next, like "how would I connect it?" and I'll probably do that next.

So, I'd appreciate any general or specific input you could give me at this time.

I'd appreciate any help along any part of the way.· You could reply here or use the PM feature.·
···· MusicallYours,
··········· Yvonness

P.S. I'm at the UPEW expo today at Parallax.

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-06-27 22:31
    Congratulations! I wish I was there. I would look closer at MIDI if your keyboard has that capability (I'm assuming you are talking about a musical keyboard and not your computer). A MIDI decoder would be a great use of the propeller and may be able to be done with the stamp but I don't know enough about it to say for sure.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • bill190bill190 Posts: 769
    edited 2010-06-27 22:40
    The following link says... "The frequency of visible light is referred to as color, and ranges from 430 trillion Hz, seen as red, to 750 trillion Hz, seen as violet"...

http://science.howstuffworks.com/light3.htm