Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What would you recommend? — Parallax Forums

What would you recommend?

ZanZan Posts: 6
edited 2010-07-01 07:45 in BASIC Stamp
Howdy!

I'm new to the world of electronics, so please go easy on me.

I'm working in a research lab. My employer has instructed me to build for him a LED lighting apparatus that allows me to control the pulse rate of the LEDs - a LED strobe light. The reason why I have to build this strobe light, vs. buy a strobe light is because I need to be able to swap different LEDS / resistors in and out easily for short tests. The idea I proposed to the boss is that I build myself a frequency controller, and then a "lamp" on a breadboard - that way I can easily swap LEDs in and out without creating anything permanent. Once these initial tests have been completed, I can try working on something a little more permanent.

I have plenty of time to physically construct the lamp, but until only Tuesday to form a parts list and schematics / a plan for him.

The boss knows that I am far from an expert working with electronics. And, since I know I'm not an expert, I thought it would be wise to turn to someone who might be one.

A friend told me to look at a stamp from Parallax. I was looking at the "BASIC Stamp Activity Kit." I need to pulse my LED strobe over a wide range of frequencies, from 1 Hz - 100+ Hz. If I could get incremental accuracy to one decimal place, that would be even better. Would this stamp do what I need it to do?

I am thinking I need to buy a bread board or two, LEDs, resistors, and a A/C to D/C power supply. This is more or less what I need to build a simple LED array, right? On top of this, I need something to control the pulse rates of the LEDs. This is where I need your help.

What would you recommend?

Thanks guys!

EDIT: