Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
setting up serial port without a dev. board — Parallax Forums

setting up serial port without a dev. board

justinmburrousjustinmburrous Posts: 16
edited 2010-07-08 01:39 in BASIC Stamp
Hey, I am new to micro controllers. I have little experience, the most "challenging" stuff I have done was make a pulse counter with a 4bit adder, so please try to keep any responses is English. Anyway, I just bought the BS2sx Microcontroller. I bought just the controller thinking that I could plug it into my bread board and wire a serial cable into the bread board. Here is my setup. I have a 4AA battery power supply powering the microcontroller (6 volts right?) I then have a Radio Shack gigawire USB to Serial converter. I installed the radio shack driver and when I plugged in the USB cable, Windows 7 also installed a driver. I also have the ISO image of the parallax CD. From there I installed the USB driver as well.

Wiring arrangement to the serial is exactly as shown in the PDF below. (NOTE: I am using 50volt capacitor instead.). http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/schem/BS2sxrevFSchematic.pdf

When I try to identify the Stamp in the basic stamp editor it does not find the controller. Please let me know what you think is wrong.

Thanks

Comments

• justinmburrousjustinmburrous Posts: 16
    edited 2010-06-15 23:33
    Update: Forgot to mention. I am using a macbook pro, but as I said earlier it is running windows 7.
  • hover1hover1 Posts: 1,929
    edited 2010-06-15 23:43
    You can't use the Parallax USB driver with the Gigawire. The Parallax USB driver is for the FTDI based USB product used by Parallax, and the native Windows 7 driver will not work. Many people have tried third party devices with some success, but not without headaches.
    Why not get the official converter for $15.00: