Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Curious about PICs — Parallax Forums

Curious about PICs

blklightning21blklightning21 Posts: 2
edited 2010-06-16 20:57 in BASIC Stamp
Hi i am new to all of this but am very interested in working with and programming PICs. I was just wondering if starting with the parallax basic stamp 2 would be a good starting point to get going in that direction. Any help and input would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• W9GFOW9GFO Posts: 4,010
    edited 2010-06-13 06:45
    If your interest is in Microchip PICs AND you want to use a Basic language then yes a Basic Stamp can help. Once you learn the Basic Stamp, you can move to PicBasic Pro, which is a compiler for the PIC chips. It is quite similar to the PBasic that is used with the Basic Stamps.

Most everything you will learn with the Basic Stamps can be applied to programming with PicBasic Pro. In fact, in their forum, they will reference Parallax documentation quite often as a learning resource.

Rich H

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    The Simple Servo Tester, a kit from Gadget Gangster.
  • $WMc%$WMc% Posts: 1,884
    edited 2010-06-13 06:50
    blklightning21

I feel this is the best place to start, But don't take my word for it. Look around the Parallax forums and then go look at some of the other forums.

I thing the choice will be obvious

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    The Truth is out there············___$WMc%___···························· BoogerWoods, FL. USA

want speed?·want·to use the Propeller?·want to stay with BASIC___www.propbasic.com___

You can feel stupid by asking a stupid question or You can be really·stupid by not asking at all.

·
  • blklightning21blklightning21 Posts: 2
    edited 2010-06-13 09:08