Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
basic stamp collecting data and sending it to a computer using RF? — Parallax Forums

basic stamp collecting data and sending it to a computer using RF?

UWSPUWSP Posts: 15
edited 2010-06-12 14:02 in BASIC Stamp
Hello All,

First of all I am new to parallax and its endless possibilities.

I was thrust into on a project at the University of Wisconsin Stevens Point and could use some thoughts from some of you gurus out there. This is what they want me to come up with: They want to have about 9 micro-controllers that will be setup to collect data using various sensors with each of them sending the data collected to one location for logging using RF antennas, probably to a computer. They want the data to be transferred once a day, but the actual data will be collected every 15 minutes or so. They want the data to be transferred to a computer and eventually into an excel document.

I guess I am a little stuck as to how this could work, if even possible, so let me know if you have any ideas. I was thinking that The PINK, PLX-DAQ, or Stamp-Plot could be used. Each stamp will have an RF transceiver and will have to send the data to a centralized unit for collection (a computer)
Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,
Elliott Stephens
estephen@uwsp.edu

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-06-08 18:17
    What is your budget and what equipment do you have already? What sensors are you using, what do they output and do you need timestamps? You are not even close to choosing hardware until you have a solid plan for the entire system including the PC storage and final display.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
    edited 2010-06-08 18:22
    It is frowned on to "crosspost" (same question in more than one forum) If you hurry you can delete your other post by using the rad X in the upper right corner of the post.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • UWSPUWSP Posts: 15
    edited 2010-06-08 18:30