Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp for a Tachometer — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp for a Tachometer

JackGJackG Posts: 3
edited 2010-08-10 09:18 in BASIC Stamp
I need to build a tachometer for my lathe, and I’m considering using a Basic Stamp processor (I’m a software developer, so I’m comfortable coding, but know little to nothing about the Basic Stamp).· My though it to use an encoder·disk with several black and white areas (probably 8) mounted on the spindle and then use a light sensor of some sort so sense the speed.· The output would be a four digit seven segment display of some sort.· The speed range is 0 to around 3000 rpm. Nothing fancy.
My initial questions are:
1)····· Does the Basic Stamp have the processor speed for this task?· (8 x 3000 RPM·= about 400 pulses per second).· I would assume so, but need to ask the question.
2)····· Does it have enough program space (EEPROM) for this (count revolutions and drive a four digit seven segment display)?· The spec sheet for the BS2 says it'll handle about 500 instructions, but I have no feeling for how much can be done in 500 instructions.
3)····· What other questions should I be asling?
·Thanks,
·Jack

Comments

• kf4ixmkf4ixm Posts: 529
    edited 2010-05-28 13:21
    the bs2 can do about 3000 instructions per second so it should be plenty fast enough for your application. if you run into problems with missed pulses, you could go with a hall effect sensor near the shaft. get you one of those screwdriver magnetizers/demagnetizers, and if you have a keyed shaft, remove the key and run it through the magnetizers a few time and replace it. then you can mount the hall effect sensor close to read the key as it passes.

here is a link about bs2 instruction speed...

http://www.emesystems.com/BS2speed.htm
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-05-28 15:07