Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
IrHeadlights question — Parallax Forums

IrHeadlights question

Erik632Erik632 Posts: 5
edited 2010-05-08 00:21 in BASIC Stamp
Hey I was wondering what resistor to use if I want the object to be pretty close close as I can without hitting when it turns thx in advance

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-05-04 01:54
    You would make that change in the code, not with a resistor. The code knows how far away you are so you decide when the bot should turn.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Erik632Erik632 Posts: 5
    edited 2010-05-04 02:57
    What changes would I make? Sorry I'm very new at this
  • Spiral_72Spiral_72 Posts: 791
    edited 2010-05-04 15:05
    What are you using for the receiver and emitter?

If it's an actual tuned detector device, you'll probably have to consult the datasheet. If it's component stuff, in my experience the amplitude (voltage) was a rough corresponded to distance the Ir traveled..... and the Ir reflectivity of the material it bounced from, power output of the emitter...etc.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "puff"...... Smile, there went another one.
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2010-05-04 17:30
    Somebody very clever once discovered -- if you're building an IR-LED to IR-detector circuit, it has maximum sensitivity when using FREQOUT IR_Pin, 1, 38500. If you use FREQOUT IR_Pin, 1, 40000 then there's less IR energy in the 38500 band, and the detection distance is less. This is sometimes called "off-tuning the emitter", because the LED isn't putting out exactly the frequency you want anymore -- which is good, that lowers the detection distance, which is what you want.

So, do an experiment where you try 20K, 30K, 38.5K, 40K, 42K -- and see how the ranges change.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2010-05-05 08:15