Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2p24 with GPS, Accelerometer, 1-wire sensor in VB2008 — Parallax Forums

BS2p24 with GPS, Accelerometer, 1-wire sensor in VB2008

YoshtiYoshti Posts: 108
edited 2010-05-04 17:10 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,
This project of mine, is almost completed. The only thing missing is to get the ELM-327 up and running in VB2008.
I don't claim any innovation, just a fun project. And no super way to do things with electronics.
I'm new to this, and still don't get the resistance and voltage etc. Find it quite weird. SO bare with me, no EUREKA in this.
Basically, is to get the BS2P24 talking to a PC. and PC gets the info and do some display with the numbers.

So I got a GPS hooked up to a USB to RS232 then to the pc. Got the BS2 with a Accelerometer 2 axis 5G's (that is a bit too much for my use) , the 1-wire temp sensors and a compass.
I use the debug command to send via the rs232 a string of characters to the PC.
Like "CM1:045 T0C:20 T0F:78 T1C:22 ....." etc
CM1 is the Compass reading 045 degrees, T0C is the 1wire sensor with celsius and the T0F is same sensor i n Fahrenheit.
The GPS sends the info constantly like "$GPGGA .... "

So once all up and running , the PC is busy reading the COM port for the BS2, then the GPS, then the ELM-327.
Then I use VB2008 to display the hole thing.

Now in the picture, nothing is plugged in, just adjusting the display and values etc. SO I fed a false string of characters, and see what it looks like. And the to White boxes in the middle of the screen for testing purpose only. So it looks weird on the screen!

All I did is researched , swear, scream and cried many times, to get the BS2 and the VB to work. I just found on the net, what I was looking for codes, and modified it for my purpose. NO invention here.