Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Do-Loop Program is not Looping — Parallax Forums

Do-Loop Program is not Looping

VecTenVecTen Posts: 3
edited 2010-05-03 04:32 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I could not find similar problems looking through the site. I spent some time looking so I don't appear to be too lazy.

I am new to programming, but have the HomeWork Board and "What's A Microcontroller?" book. My first programs worked well. I am trying to flash an LED continuously. It cycles once, then freezes. This laptop seems to have a non-standard serial port. Following the instructions, I disconnected the serial cable--still no Loop when I press the reset button. I changed the program by adding the following after the compiler directives:

DEBUG "Program Running!"

The book says this should keep the COM port open? Fascinating! Man, this is great stuff!

This seems to be a laptop problem, not Stamp. I appreciate any help.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-04-28 23:11
    1) Any time you have a question about a program, please provide a listing of your program. Do not use cut and paste. The forum software will strip out some of your formatting. Use either the "code" tags ([noparse][[/noparse] code] and [noparse][[/noparse] /code] without the extra space) or the Attachment Manager that you get by using the Post Reply button instead of the Quick Reply box.

2) You may have a weak battery. That's a common cause of programs starting to run then hang or reboot.
  • VecTenVecTen Posts: 3
    edited 2010-04-28 23:32
    Dr. Green:

I appreciate your reply. I have uploaded file and fresh battery. And I accidentally pushed your ignore button to find out what this button was! Ouch!
    For your information, I have it on good authority that at the Roman Amphitheatre a "thumbs down" sign meant the Gladiator would live to fight again.

I don't see that attachment opening, maybe I just write it out like I see it.

'What's a Microcontroller - LedOnOff.bs2