Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
easy to make a BASIC Stamp project that controls a serial device? — Parallax Forums

easy to make a BASIC Stamp project that controls a serial device?

NCTV17NCTV17 Posts: 2
edited 2010-04-29 00:37 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone, I work for Community Television station here in Naperville, Illinois and want to pose a question to you:

I am new to the BASIC Stamp world and wanted to know if it would be possible to program one of these stamps to at a push of a wired button send out a serial command. I am looking to build a device that at a push of a button or switch can send a data string. It also has to have a pass through because this device is normally controlled by a computer. here is a excerpt on what is needed to control the video switcher.

3.4 CONTROL VIA THE RS232 INPUT
A simple protocol allows all crosspoints to be set through the RS232 port. The
RS232 port will accept inputs from a terminal, computer, or other software-driven
control device. No handshaking is required. The RS16x16HB RS232 Port is configured
as a DCE. The pin-out of this port allows connection to an PC or compatible 9 pin
serial COM Port with a 1:1 cable. (Data is sent from the router as pin 2. Data is
received by the router as pin 3. Pin 5 is ground.)
Note: in the following commands the letters may be upper or lower case; (ENTER)
is the same as Carriage Return (in hex, a 0D). Do not add a Line Feed (in hex, 0A).
3.4.1 ROUTING AUDIO AND VIDEO
To route video and audio send a six-byte command in the form:
Bxxyy(ENTER)
where xx is an output number (01-16) and yy is an input number (01-16).

what supplies would I need to complete this project and is this a simple thing for a novice to do? Thanks a million! - Jay

Post Edited (NCTV17) : 4/28/2010 11:02:48 PM GMT

Comments

• NCTV17NCTV17 Posts: 2
    edited 2010-04-29 00:07
    So basically I want to be able to push a button and have the Basic stamp send: B0101 (Enter) is this doable?