Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Infrared LED and Receiver — Parallax Forums

Infrared LED and Receiver

TheIceman007TheIceman007 Posts: 2
edited 2010-04-25 04:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hi there. I'm new to Basic Stamp and wanted to try creating an infrared beam and detecting when an object breaks it. I downloaded the STamp weekend applicaction kit PDF and bought the IR LED and receiver and setup my board of eduction with the circuit described in the relevent project PDF. The only problem is my circuit just doesn't seem to detect when the beam is broken. I can literally place a cardboard blocking the receiver and it still says it works. Only when I disconnect the receiver does it come back with the "broken" text. Code from the Stamp Weekend Kit is here:

IR_detect var bit
low 7
loop:
pause 50
freqout 7, 1, 38500
IR_detect = in8
if IR_detect = 0 then unbroken
' Make sure to add six spaces to the debug statement
' below. That way both debug statements will have the
' same number of spaces for a better display.
debug home, "Beam is broken; object detected. "
goto loop

unbroken:

debug home, "Beam is unbroken; object not detected."

goto loop

I'm sure I have followed the circuit diagram correctly but if someone could post a board of education example that I can check I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

Comments

• electrosyselectrosys Posts: 212
    edited 2010-04-23 22:17
    Hello TheIceman007,
    Look at the -Stamp Work.PDF- (Page 119) - EXPERIMENT #20: INFRARED OBJECT DETECTION -
    You can download -Stamp Work- from Parallax web site:

Stamp Work:
    http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/books/sw/Web-SW-v2.1.pdf

Post Edited (electrosys) : 4/23/2010 10:23:40 PM GMT
  • TheIceman007TheIceman007 Posts: 2
    edited 2010-04-24 10:54
    Hi electrosys

Thanks for your quick reply. I've tried the link and it is practically the same code as the Stamp Weekend Application kit with interestingly the IR receiving the beam as 1 rather than 0.